Take it Easy

What a day. What a fantastic day.

So much has happened over the past couple of days, actually. We went to Roswell, New Mexico on Thursday, hoping to catch an alien. No such luck, but we did go to the official UFO Museum and learned more than I ever knew about aliens and UFOs. Did you know that there is a close encounters of the first, second, and third kind? There is quite a classification system that I was unaware of.
We shopped around the gift stores (because you can’t leave Roswell without a t-shirt and a coffee mug with a huge green alien on it) and found a great one with an eccentric/wacky/intense owner. We conversed with him for over an hour on conspiracy theories, alien encounters, and artificial intelligence. Apparently the world is going to hell in a hand basket and superbugs will be the end of civilization.

We left New Mexico and headed for a corner in Winslow, Arizona.
(For those of you who don’t get that reference, there is a Jackson Browne/Eagles song Take it Easy)

I’m the biggest Jackson Browne fan. HUGE. If I could only pick one artist to listen to for the rest of my life, it would be Jackson. He speaks to my soul. So I was pretty excited to stand on his corner.

After we left the corner, we set up camp in Homolovi Park, which was pretty cool. And pretty damn windy. Setting up the tent took twice as long because the wind was incredible. It ended up with me inside, laying down while Val frantically hammered all the steaks down, and even after she did we left all of our luggage in the tent so it wouldn’t fly off.

But yesterday. Oh yesterday was worth bugs and moths and flying tents and sleeping in the same clothes for 3 days. We went to the Grand Canyon. Which honestly, I was looking forward to, but I wasn’t super excited. Its such a hyped up national monument, I sort of thought it would disappoint. When I saw Mount Rushmore, I remember thinking how small it looked.

The Grand Canyon is worth the hype. It is an automatic silencer. Val and I tend to talk. A lot. But we both shut up immediately when we viewed the canyon. I wish I could describe how I felt or how it looked, but I feel that words would fail me miserably. At one point, I stopped photographing because you just have to stop and take it all in. It is beautiful and magnificent and will leave you in awe.
The canyon made me feel tiny and gave me a whole new perspective. I highly recommend checking it out.

-M

Oh and meeting Angel Delgadillo, the “Mayor of Route 66” was also was part of the fantastic day. But more of that on the next post.

About kodakkerouacs

Kodak Kerouacs is mostly about photography and travel, though notsomuch travel photography. KodakKerouacs is about living free and loud then telling everybody else about how awesome it is to be free and really, really loud. Written by two girls who love coffee, film, and the open road. View all posts by kodakkerouacs

10 responses to “Take it Easy

  • Jim

    Sounds like it’s not a proper visit to Roswell without having at least one conspiracy-theory discussion with someone.

    • kodakkerouacs

      Thats for sure! And he alone was worth the visit…although the museum was cool too. Not really a museum, more like a library. All of the exhibits were really just articles from newspapers framed on the wall. Lots of reading, but learned a lot of interesting things!

  • Mary hernandez

    You are walking in aunt micks and my footsteps from 1977. Sooo much fun, we actually started north then went south. I’m re-living my youth thru you two. Enjoy and be safe 🙂

  • Shannon

    Love it, Mary! How cool to stand on the corner of Winslow Ari-zoner!!! That’ll be a frame-it-and-hang-it fer sure. So glad you guys got to go to the Grand Ole Canyon. It is quite the place. Can’t wait to go back and take my kids with me.

    • Shannon

      Okay…time for Take It Easy trivia. What’s the one-word difference between the Eagle’s version and Browne’s version of the tune?

      • kodakkerouacs

        Haha I love trivia!
        There are actually two differences. The first is when Jackson Browne sings “Don’t let the sound of your own wheels drive you crazy” while the Eagles lyrics are “Don’t let the sound of your own wheels make you crazy” in the second chorus

        The second difference is when Jackson Browne sings “…she’s just a little hard to find”
        The Eagles sing “…she’s so hard to find”

        We were so excited! I know the towns people were probably like, “Aww shit not another one” but we couldn’t help it.

        -M

      • Shannon

        Well then, there’s THREE! Eagles is “slowin’ down to take a look at me,” and Browne’s version is “slowin’ down to have a look at me.” That’s the version we sang.

        You do know your trivia, Mary!

      • kodakkerouacs

        Wow I can’t believe I missed that one!

  • Michelle Gillies

    This road trip is the stuff of dreams. New Mexico, Jackson Brown and Route 66 all in one blog. I am envious!

Leave a Reply

