Hole in the ground

I did not blog last night because I fell asleep. Normally I don’t provide an excuse, but last night I felt the sleep hit me like a frying pan in the face, I turned to Mary and informed her that I needed a nap, then I promptly fell over. Asleep. On top of all my crap and in my day clothes. I also had planned to edit videos and develop film and write post cards and all those lovely things we try to do on the road that don’t coincide with taking thousands of photographs. Turns out this is more difficult than we thought.

Here is a universal truth: When you come to a place with no expectations, it will rock our world.

Yesterday we went to the Grand Canyon. People flock to it from all over the globe, and they treat it as a very big deal. Arizona doesn’t even want to be known for anything else! So we went, to cross something off the ol’ bucket list. I thought it’d be cool to see a really big hole in the ground, but didn’t think much else of it. Well, I found out that it’s so much more than that. It’s not just a hole in the ground, it’s a hole in the ground bigger than I ever realized a hole could be. The size of it is enough to humble anyone. The rock has so many layers and rings that are evidence of more years on this earth than I can really wrap my brain around. I felt it confront me and my limits. My lifetime might be shown in a millimeter of it’s depth. I could be as influential as Abraham Lincoln, but the canyon remembers dinosaurs drinking from it’s river. Abe’s contributions are as small as a grain of sand on the shore, as far as the Grand Canyon has seen. It is physical proof of time and change, and the beauty that comes from it.  It is something you cannot describe or photograph. It is something to experience.

Dog in New Orleans

Kodak Ektar 100, Dog in new Orleans

I miss my dog. This dog above was horrifically bored, and I know Mr. Bingley (my dog) would be as well. He hates long trips. He likes to go home and he has his routine that he totally satisfied with. I saw dogs at the GC who were so happy to be on super long walks, but I do not have one of those dogs.

Question to our readers: when you are scanning in images from negatives, do you think it is okay to leave dust on the image? You wouldn’t if you were printing in a dark room, but the dust really can “send home” the message that this image came from a negative, and was not created digitally. I’m curious. Is there a place for dust?

-V

About kodakkerouacs

Kodak Kerouacs is mostly about photography and travel, though notsomuch travel photography. KodakKerouacs is about living free and loud then telling everybody else about how awesome it is to be free and really, really loud. Written by two girls who love coffee, film, and the open road. View all posts by kodakkerouacs

7 responses to “Hole in the ground

  • Shannon

    I still can’t believe you didn’t go by the pipe yard / sculpture park. It’s like our own personal Grand Canyon. Really. Mind blowing.
    http://www.texaspipe.com/menagerie_park.html

    You know what really gets me? At the end of your video, it’s apparent it’s a really gusty day…and those people are climbing down on the edge of oblivion (a/k/a/ DEATH).

    V — You gotta crash sometime. I knew it was coming.

    M — The dust is perfect. Leave it. It lends authenticity. If you really want to make it perfect, save it for later, when you’re not on the road. But for now? Get what you get…and get it to us. 🙂

  • Andrew

    Most of the time, if I scan negatives, I leave the dust. The dust on a scanned negative has a very different look and feel from dust on a digital sensor. The random sizes and textures that result are very distinct, and add a special uniqueness that only film has. This adds a character that digital images can really only emulate with software. This texture of the dust adds in ways a special nature and medium to film more of an artistic medium now more than ever.

    There is a flip side where cleaning and spotless has a nice place. In school there is an appreciation for the crispness and flattering nature to something in a 4×5 negative. I would make sure when making prints, or digital sharing my images to have them as clean as possible. If I shared digitally, of course I would scan as is, as I could easily clean a negative with a healing and clone stamp, versus cleaning in the darkroom with the “analog” tools.

    Both have their place and role, but its ultimately up to the artist/photographer to appropriate what they fit best for the image and context.

  • Angie Z.

    You all make mountain lions, scavenger birds and a giant hole in the earth look so fun!

    Off-topic, do you remember when you posted about Route 66 last week and I mentioned that about the only thing I knew about Route 66 was the song and the old TV show? I swear, the weirdest thing ever, just two days later I’m listening to NPR and they do a feature on All Things Considered about Route 66! I haven’t heard a word about that show since I saw it on Nick at Nite in junior high. The series just got released on DVD apparently. When you have free time to kill: http://www.npr.org/blogs/monkeysee/2012/05/25/153698176/route-66-a-country-crisscrossing-series-comes-to-home-video

  • roadtripusaroute66

    Hi Girls, Finally got my list together for the Kreativ blogger award and since I enjoy yours so much have nominated you – not sure if that’s what you do (Nominate someone who already nominated you but that’s what i’ve done!?) x

  • Michelle Gillies

    My only visit to the Grand Canyon was a helicopter trip from Vegas. We landed and had a little boxed lunch. It was overwhelming. I would like to do it again as a road trip.

Leave a Reply

