This is Hollywood, everyone has a dream. What’s your dream?

I know I know, its been far too long since we’ve blogged. My apologies. When you’ve been on the road for 3 weeks, you come to a point where you just need to disconnect and not work anymore.

We came to this point in Los Angeles.

It was wonderful. We stayed with  my cousin and her wonderful family, and just sort of melted into the city for a few days. We did some of the touristy stuff, like walking around the Sunset Strip and took photos in front of the famed Hollywood Sign. Valerie wanted to go up and lick it, however we didn’t feel like hiking 4 miles to get to it, and then jumping a fence with possibilities of time behind bars.

We’ll save that for next time.

But then, we also just went out and hung out in the city. LA is the place to people watch. It was amazing. AMAZING. There are so many different types of people to observe and photograph. And they’re all so used to being photographed, that they really don’t give a shit.

It really is a diverse city.

If you want be a rock star, its the city for you.
If you want to find a trophy wife/rich husband, its the city for you.
If you want to be a 3rd grade teacher, its the city for you.
If you want to be in a gang, its the city for you.
If you want to be a peg-legged, cross dressing, spandex wearing, moustache-wielding man, its the city for you.

I loved it. I could move there tomorrow. Maybe I will. It’s a photographers dream. I took so many photos and did nothing that was on my to-do list. But hey, thats life. I spent time with my cousin (whose kids are fucking adorable, by the way), met really cool people, and saw Courtney Love making magic happen with big-wigs at the Chateau Marmont.

Los Angeles is dirty, rich, ugly, raw, sparkling, beautiful, jazzy, glamorous, and loud. I love it.

Oh and Valerie finally found food she could eat. I’d been telling her forever that she would be able to eat whatever she wanted in California. That she would have options. She didn’t believe me. She ordered a burger in Texas without the bun, and the guy behind the counter was a combination of confused and blown away. “You’re in TEXAS. We don’t do that here.”

She was able to have her cheesecake and eat it too here.

-M

LA was great. I ate ice cream in a cone from a restaurant. That’s right. ME. Then I had cheesecake. BOOM. Vegan, gluten-free cheesecake. We also saw Courtney Love. I discovered that my hands are the same size as Cher and Myrna Loy. We took some fucking awesome pictures, but I can’t show them to you yet, because they’re all film, so they have to get developed.

Since I don’t have any pictures, this post will focus on some traveling tips.

– When you are in LA, go the the Chateaux Marmont  so you can have fancy drinks, see a celeb and feel like you’re in old school Hollywood. Call ahead and make a reservation (you don’t have to BE anyone). You will absolutely see someone famous.

– In California, pedestrians always have the right of way. This means that, while you are operating your two-ton vehicle, any person on the street may walk in front of you and, if you hit them, it’s your fault. They are not afraid of your death-mobile. The dick-heads will stroll out on the street with no care for their well-being and absolutely no respect for your life. Be prepared to stop often.

– Sweet tooth? Sprinkles. You have to wander into Beverly Hills, but it’s worth it. I’m not a frosting person, but I am with these cupcakes. They offer gluten free and vegan red velvet cupcakes, and they even have a doggie cupcake for your best friend.

– If you run out of dough in LA, but you still want to eat somewhere popular and full of famous peeps, Café Gratitude offers a dish that is donation based and nobody will be turned away (so it’s free, or whatever you have in your pocket).

-V

About kodakkerouacs

Kodak Kerouacs is mostly about photography and travel, though notsomuch travel photography. KodakKerouacs is about living free and loud then telling everybody else about how awesome it is to be free and really, really loud. Written by two girls who love coffee, film, and the open road. View all posts by kodakkerouacs

3 responses to “This is Hollywood, everyone has a dream. What’s your dream?

  • Shannon

    Yeah for good food! CA has is all…that’s why everyone wants to live there. And you know, Val, if I’da known about your dairy-egg-gluten allergy, I would have made something different for lunch. We aren’t vegan, but often eat that way. Next time. And I do hope there will be a next (and longer) time.

    • Shannon

      BTW — I just watched your “thank you” piece to Kodak after Valerie’s “dairy-gluten-free ice cream junkie” piece. I’m not sure how I missed this! You told me about it, but it was nice hearing the story. And REALLY? Expired film is better?

      • kodakkerouacs

        Haha, well everyone has a personal preference, but we both love expired film. You never know if its going to develop correctly, or whether or not it will come out at all! And if it does come out, sometimes the colors will be all crazy (which is why, if you prefer to have stability, you’re better off with fresh film)
        But sad to say, all of the expired film we’ve been shooting has developed with normal colors.

        Damn.

        -M

        P.S I’m the biggest non-vegan around, but even I have to admit that the vegan/gluten free cafes in CA are DELICIOUS.
        I’m kind of missing Cafe Gratitude right now. If you ever visit the West Coast, go there. Its insanely good.

Leave a Reply

