Beatniks and Poprocks

San Francisco has been wonderful so far. It’s been a refreshing and invigorating break from the chaos and havoc that is the road. Don’t get me wrong. I love the freedom and escape only the road can bring.
However, it is necessary to pull over sometimes and just breathe.

For any of you who don’t know, here’s a quick (and pretty damn accurate) map of the Bay area.

Totally accurate.

We are staying in the “El Something” part. Val and I arrived Thursday evening and just passed out. I had a lot of fun in LA, but I  knew coming here that we’d be able to drop our stuff and just kind of relax for awhile.
Which I did pretty much all weekend.

Saturday was GREAT. Know why?

I WENT TO A CUBS GAME!

Let me give you some background. I love baseball, and I love the Chicago Cubs. I’ve always been a fan, and always will be
And deep, deep, deep down I believe that someday, hopefully before I die, they will win the World Series. If you are not familiar with their story, I wont go into great, depressing detail, but I’ll just say that they are known in the MLB world as the “Lovable Losers”.

To save the suspense, we did not win. Oh well. Beers, hot dogs and good company was really the reason I went. We’ll get ’em next time. Right guys?? Please?

After drinking for pretty much since we arrived in the East Bay, it was quite difficult to wake up today. Valerie and I had decided that today was the day we tackle San Francisco. Photograph the SHIT out of that city.

And our bodies were like,  BLAAAHHHHH, NOOOOOOOOOOOOOO.

Partying+burgers and pizza+5 days straight= No Bueno.

Our bodies were not compliant with getting out of bed early. My stomach was gross and Val’s liver was angry.

But how often are you in San Francisco? Unless you live there and then I guess you’re always here.
We sucked it up, had some coffee and a delicious breakfast, then took the BART into the city. The public transit system in the bay area is wonderful…plus I refuse to pay a ridiculous amount of money to park my car for several hours. It’s like paying for my car to have a nap.

It was a fantastic day. I walked around Chinatown and took in all the colors of the stores, the conversations of the various tourists, the many, many smells of the city. The best part of the day was hands down, the visit to the Jack Kerouac Beat Museum. We didn’t even have that planned. Meandering around the streets of San Francisco, we sort of just stumbled upon it.

The Universe was leading us down the path we were supposed to be on.

The museum was awesome and the people who worked there were just as cool. We met Jerry who hangs out with Neil Cassady’s son and travels the country in the essence of Kerouac. And he was super pumped to meet us too. People of the Beat Generation are a very tight knit community, and in my experience, they are very welcoming and really excited to meet other people who share that love of freedom, creativity, passion, and the philosophy that you can live your life the way you want to.

Reading about Kerouac and being reminded of why I’m taking this journey and why I’m on this mission was something I needed. Its easy when you’re on the road to forget why you’re there; you’re dirty and cranky and haven’t slept in a real bed in a week and can’t wait to just get the fuck out of your car. Thats understandable, however I needed today to be reminded why I’m here and what I want to accomplish.

The day was exceptional and ended with good Chinese food and pop rocks in a chocolate bar. Yes, it does exist.

I’ve taken so many rolls of film and tried desperately to drink up as much of the North Beach Beatniks essence as I can before I have to leave.

I have a few more days to turn into a Beatnik 🙂 Or just a flip-flop wearing, 3 camera toting, liberally swearing, not giving a fuck photographer who just wants to capture the world through her lens.

Maybe I’m already one.

A new breed of beatniks. The poets and writers had their say. Now its the photographers turn.

Watch out.

 

-M

About kodakkerouacs

Kodak Kerouacs is mostly about photography and travel, though notsomuch travel photography. KodakKerouacs is about living free and loud then telling everybody else about how awesome it is to be free and really, really loud. Written by two girls who love coffee, film, and the open road. View all posts by kodakkerouacs

4 responses to “Beatniks and Poprocks

  • Jim

    Ah, you took a good deep drink from the well. Excellent. Now you can drive on refreshed.

  • Shannon

    “Val’s liver was angry” nailed it. Glad you had good time regardless! I don’t think you could be a full-time Beatnik or a Beat Gen. You have to LOVE living in your car and not staying put to pull that off. Somehow, I don’t think that is the case. LOL

    Love the map. Yep, pretty much sums up the area, doesn’t it? I can’t believe how far you’ve traveled! And to think you still have to come aaaaaall the way back again.

    • kodakkerouacs

      Haha, yeah sometimes when we’re in the car Val and I will look at each other, as if to say “Holy shit. We were in North Carolina 4 weeks ago. And now we’re in Berkeley”

      Its been amazing so far, but we’re back on the road again. And hopefully back on better eating habits. I’m not sure our organs can go through much more!

      -M

Leave a Reply

